St Malo: Galette Complète

In St Malo there is a crêperie called Breizh Café. We discovered its sister when we lived in Paris – that rare Parisian restaurant that is both lovely and affordable for a student.

There they serve delicious galettes, crêpes, and local hard cider in little clay bowls. Every time I go, I have to try the most interesting thing. Last time, I had an andouillette galette – which I enjoyed, but I don’t think I will ever have again.

SAM_2089.jpg

In addition to my quest to explore every corner of French cuisine, the reason why I got such a strange galette was that I (in my very personal opinion) have discovered – dun dun dun – the. very. best. galette. complète. So why would I waste my time eat a galette complète elsewhere?

A galette complète is just a galette (a crêpe made with buckwheat flour) complete with the three usual fillings: cheese, ham, and egg. It’s always dangerous to trust that a crêperie will get the proportions or the kinds of these fillings right. For example, they almost always use cooked deli ham when thinly sliced cured ham just hits that perfect note. Or they use Emmenthal, which has almost no taste, instead of Comté. They usually get the egg right, so I can’t improve there. My version also adds ‘Garlic & Fine Herbs’ Boursin to the Comté which makes it taste awesome. I actually got the idea from Breizh Café when they added a melting pat of ‘Garlic & Fine Herbs’ butter to my husband’s galette complète. (And I will try to ignore the fact that he’s eating it outside of our kitchen.)

SAM_2091.jpg

Of course this recipe has been optimized for my taste buds, so feel free to experiment. You can put almost any filling in these (my favorite American crêperie fills theirs with brie, bacon & jam or spicy black beans & sweet potatoes). This is just a starting point.

Note that this recipe makes about five galettes, but the batter lasts for a least a week in the fridge. In fact, since this is a kind of crêpe batter, you’re advised to let it sit in the fridge for a few hours to a day before using it (though I don’t think it makes a huge difference). So after making two galettes for the two of us, I store the batter in the fridge for another meal.

Oh, and you should serve it with French cider in a little bowl-like cup.

SAM_3287.jpg

Galettes complètes

  • Servings: 5
  • Print

Ingredients

For the batter:

  • 1 egg
  • 2 cups (250g) buckwheat flour
  • 2 cups (500g) water
  • pinch of salt

For the filling:

  • 5 eggs (1 per galette)
  • 1 2/3 oz (50g) Garlic & Fine Herbs Boursin (1/3oz (10g) per galette)
  • 3 1/3 oz (100g) Comté or Gruyere (2/3oz (20g) per galette)
  • 10 thin slices of cured ham, preferably smoked like Speck Alto Adige (2 per galette)

Directions

  1. Blend the batter ingredients together in a blender until smooth.
  2. Fry the eggs sunny-side-up. Set aside.
  3. Heat a large skillet over medium-high heat, and butter it. When it is hot, pour about 1/2 cup (150g) of batter into the pan and immediately pick up the pan and swirl it slowly to coat the entire bottom with batter.
  4. Sprinkle with 2/3oz (20g) of Comté and 1/3oz (10g) of Boursin.
  5. Put the egg on top, making sure to center the yolk in the galette.
  6. After the galette has been cooking for about 5 minutes, the edges will be dry and crispy enough to easily come off the pan. At this point, fold the edges in to the center, so that it touches but doesn’t cover the egg yolk.
  7. Take off the heat and place the 2 slices of ham on top.
  8. Serve hot! If you are making more than two, you should put the completed ones in a warm but not hot oven until ready to serve.

 

One thought on “St Malo: Galette Complète

Leave a Reply

